Whole 30: Day 2

A friend texted me this afternoon and asked how my Whole 30 was going. I have only been on it for two days, and this was my response.

“I could pump liquid cheese into my mouth and not hate it.”

Last night was pretty rough since I hadn’t had any caffeine all day. Once 7pm rolled around I had a terrible headache that put me in bed around 9:30. Luckily, ibuprofen is not restricted on the Whole 30. That lead to an experience I would like to forget, also known as the sugar free syrup and soy milk PSL I got at Starbucks this morning. If you are gagging, rightfully so. Does anybody know if Starbucks has almond milk?

Yesterday, I did however make it to the grocery store, where I walked the aisles and mourned my past life. I realized yesterday, as I was Pinterest-ing recipes, that cooking on the Whole 30 is going to be tough for me. Unless you live alone, or have lived alone, you don’t realize just how difficult it is to cook for one person. Even when I try to make a meal for just me (minimizing ingredients, only cooking one chicken breast), there is so much left over that I have lunch the next day. Now, that isn’t always a bad situation, but sometimes I don’t want my dinner for lunch the next day, but I have to eat anyways or it will spoil. Healthy shopping for one is a lot harder than I planned. So my Whole 30 will consist of a lot of salads and a lot of fruit & veggies, because those are easy. I can’t make these grand Crock Pot stews that take 4 chicken breasts and a pound of broth for ingredients… I will be eating chicken stew for 3 weeks, and I am certainly not going to go through the hassle of making one cup of chicken stew.

As a sick joke, Harris Teeter even had Dr. Pepper on sale buy one get one free. I wish you could see my face right now. It is not a happy one. My addiction to Dr. Pepper might not be as severe as you might say, somebody who gets the shakes when they don’t indulge in their drug of choice, but it’s pretty close. I have done my best over the years to wean myself off the nectar of the gods, and gotten myself down to one, if none, on any given day. I might not be cracking Coke cans on the daily, but when I get a hankering for the sweet morning dew of Dr. Pepper… I gotta have one.  So even if I end up failing in some aspects of the Whole 30 (like wine), if I make it a month without Dr. Pepper, I am throwing myself a party.

All-in-all, I know I will feel so much better after this whole experiment is over, and it will have taught me to think outside the box in regards to cooking healthy meals and how not to rely on McDonald’s breakfast to get me through the morning.

Now let me go enjoy my lettuce.

Katelyn

7 responses

  1. Starbucks does not have almond milk :( You are MUCH braver than me for doing this. I could not give up dairy if my life depended on it. Cheese is my lifeblood.

  2. Call me a purist but I just like a double tall Americano with one pump of pumpkin spice…haha. No cream, no milk, no soy, no nothing. It’s not half bad as long as you like the taste of coffee (and I do) but if you’re used to candy coffee (as my uncle calls it) you probably wouldn’t enjoy it.

    What about cooking things like PLAIN chicken breasts and then just using them in different dishes? That way you’re fooling yourself into thinking you’re eating different things. Ya know…chicken tacos, chicken chopped up in a salad, chicken burger, etc.

  3. I’m impressed. And I have to confess, I’m reading this while drinking a Diet Dr. Pepper and I texted Chris to tell him to go to Harris Teeter and take advantage of the sale…I’m a terrible person. I wouldn’t survive 30 minutes of the Whole 30. You can do it!!

Leave a Reply

