On Turning 25

Last Tuesday, yes over a week ago, I turned the ripe old age of 25. Sorry I am just now blogging about it; I have been going non-stop.

I really enjoy being 25. To be honest, I was telling people I was 25 several weeks before my actual birthday. I was just ready to be 25, one year old… (one year wiser)… Last year I said I felt like I would fit 24, but I don’t think I did. Do I think I will fully fit 25? I am not sure. I don’t really think I will fit my age until I am old and grey relaxing on a front  porch, but I do feel like 25 and 2014 is going to be a great year for me. Challenging, undoubtedly, but totally worth it.

My friends and family went out of their way to make my birthday wonderful this year. My 23rd and 24th birthday’s came and went, so I wasn’t building up for anything special this year, but it was the exact opposite.

On Saturday night, Marc’s Dad and Step-Mom invited me over for dinner to celebrate my birthday. I just thought it would be a yummy dinner with lots of back porch sitting and playing fetch. When I was on their road, I noticed that Sally was driving right in front of me. I was just on the phone with her, and I know she knew nobody in that neighborhood, so I pieced together that Sally was going to dinner! Once I got to their house, Sally and I hugged and got all excited. I noticed that Guy (Marc’s dad) was wearing his nice lounge pants and shoes… so something had to be up. That or he really does like me. haha  That thought hadn’t fully processed before Lori and Billy showed up for dinner! I was so surprised. It was great to have some of my best friends at my birthday dinner. They sure did pull one over on me! (Good thing I showered AND brushed my hair.) They also surprised me with the cutest Thirty-One box with “Love Letters” embroidered on the front to keep all the letters Marc has written me and other Marine keepsakes.
photo (59) photo (61) photo (60)

Then on Monday, Lori (pictured above) decides that she wants to surprise me with dinner at Carrabba’s and a gift certificate to go get my nails done! And it wasn’t even my birthday yet! We had a great time just sitting and chatting, and even Billy (her husband) came to join us. It was a great evening. I had just got done running (I will explain that later) and looked pretty fresh, but even so, I had a blast.
photo (56)

On Tuesday, my actual birthday, I went to work in yoga pants… because it was my birthday and I wanted to. First, I met my Dad at Cracker Barrel for breakfast, because he was flying out that evening and wouldn’t be able to go to dinner. It was nice to just be able to sit and talk with my dad, and not have to yell over my brothers torturing me. It was a sunny morning and a dreary afternoon, but it didn’t bother me much. I met Sally at a Mexican restaurant for birthday lunch, and girl talk. While I was coming back to work from lunch, I get a phone call saying I have flowers at work. My dad always sends me flowers for things, and I thought they were from him because he felt bad about missing my birthday. But when I walked in the door and saw them, they were not Dad flowers. (Dad always sends roses.) This was major. There was a card, so I picked it up, and it was from MARC! I was so shocked I couldn’t even speak. Once I could regain my composure I immediately called his step-mom (who I knew was in on it) and asked how the heck did that even happen. I came to find out that he had them all picked out, card written, and ready to go before he even left! I was so surprised. So. Surprised. My friend Mary Catherine gave me a great idea of what to do with the flowers, so after a few days, I picked some petals and am drying them to put in a clear ornament for Christmas! Isn’t that just the best little idea ever? I am pretty excited about it, and the flowers… that are still going strong a week later. {{Way to go RCT Lucas… way.to.go.}}
photo (55)

After work, I headed downtown for my running club (again later) and ran my little heart out. Yes, I went to torture myself on my birthday… It was a sucky run, but I finished. That’s all that matters to me. Once that was over, I went to my mom’s house, again looking fresh, for birthday dinner with her and my  brothers. My mom made a delicious meal, including Mac-and-Cheese! She got me a FitBit for my birthday, and I absolutely love it. If you have been looking into one, I highly recommend it. I have the Force, which I know some people are having complications with, but I am not. God decided to trade me… he made me allergic to Christmas Trees, but not the nickle used in FitBits. She also got me the Vera Bradley bag I wanted, but we are hoping to trade it out for a different pattern. It’s perfect for my work bag, so I don’t have to carry three different bags, and would be a great weekend getaway bag!

Overall I had a great birthday, and even though somebody was missing, it was still wonderful. Thank you to all the family and friends that made it such a great birthday!

Cheers to 25

Katelyn

 

3 responses

Leave a Reply

